The Virgin and the Cucumber

17 Jun

Greg is a virgin contributor who’s embarrassed about not knowing how to properly write a blurb. Or any other kind of written material for that matter.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not good at certain things—public speaking, comebacks, sports that involve throwing, befriending animals—and to not further expose myself, I’ll just say that the list goes on. On the other hand, I can think of two things at which I’m virtually unparalleled: being Asian and eating.

Now at first, these two…talents?…are what I had intended to contribute to this fine blog. They’re my areas of expertise, if you will. But it’s a little banal to write about being Asian and eating food, especially with the plethora of Asian food bloggers out there. Even more troubling, it’s nearly impossible to find news that’s Asian AND food-related AND gay (or even bi!). And the very few articles that do exist in that marginal realm are nearly half a decade old (and filled with sensationalist claims, inflammatory language, or just overall bad taste). So to offset the sheer lack of content, I’ve decided to concoct my own subset of news, catering specifically to the gay foodie readers (sorry Asians, it was getting a little too specific). For the record, most of what I write will be satirical and should by no means be taken seriously, as is the case with most of the things I do. There will be bits of fact sprinkled in throughout, but for the most part it’ll be good oldfashioned fiction. Think of it as The Onion, but gayer. MaybeThe Cucumber?

Anyway, sorry for the lack of an actual, legitimate, readable post, but keep an eye out for the first of many articles to come. The issue: America’s battle against sodium.

One Response to “The Virgin and the Cucumber”

  1. Double Chin June 17, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I’M A STAR!

    Also, I’m liking the use of bold. I’ll be sure to utilize that in my next submission.

Leave a Reply

