Vote For Your Favorite LGBT Film Of All Time!

16 Jun

So lately I’ve been going crazy on Netflix, wasting away watching movie after movie after movie. Particularly, I’ve been filling my queue up with LGBT themed films and rating them, hoping that Netflix would then keep recommending me more of the same. (I won’t bring up here that recent controversy of the closeted lesbian suing Netflix for releasing her movie preferences, even though I want to). , In the last couple of years we’ve really seen an increase in popularity of mainstream LGBT movies making it big (Think Milk, A Single Man), and while I’ve seen many of them, there’s still plenty more to go.

In any case I’m curious to know which movies my fellow NYU Queers and readers love the most, so I’ve compiled a hefty list for you to vote for your faves! (If your choice ain’t on it, vote OTHER and let us know in a comment what it is!)

Poll after the jump…

7 Responses to “Vote For Your Favorite LGBT Film Of All Time!”

  1. sophisms June 16, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Dude! Where are Imagine Me and You and Kissing Jessica Stein?

    • zinastick June 16, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      Gah! I almost put Jessica Stein on the list! I agonized over how not to make this list too excessively long (so many LGBT movies!!) yet still be comprehensive.

      There’s bound to be great films I left out and thats what the comments are for!

      • emancipationofjamie June 16, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

        Jessica Stein should be on the list (dark horse write-in favorite?), but I’m not sure Imagine Me and You (fun as it is) is THAT quality of a film.

      • sophisms June 16, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

        Sure, but the name of the game is FAVORITE LGBT films.

      • sophisms June 16, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

        p.s. you and this list still rock.

  2. Kat June 17, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    Is this favorite film of the films that have LGBTQ themes? Or favorite film in how it deals with LGBTQ themes?

    Some of these movies, like History Boys, I don’t think should classify as an “LGBT film”. It is a film that happens to have LGBT characters. It’s not about being gay. It’s about a certain kind of college prep environment. It’s about student-teacher relationships. It’s about a number of things, but I don’t think it’s about anything LGBT.

    That said it’s a really good movie and I’d probably vote for that as my favorite. I haven’t seen a good half of the one son the list though. Favorite movie about LGBT themes is Milk.

    • zinastick June 17, 2010 at 9:13 am #

      That’s a good point Kat, thanks for the inquiry. I think there are so many films out there that are gray areas, but for me movies like The History Boys or even My Own Private Idaho are not ones that are about or explore the issues of being gay per se, but instead simply have central LGBT characters or LGBT themed story lines that are worthy of making the whole films themselves part of the LGBT category. That’s just my thinking, but again it is difficult to draw the lines, and this list certainly is not comprehensive so there may be films on here that don’t deserve to be and vice versa.

Leave a Reply

