So She Doesn’t Bang…

29 Mar

Today, Ricky Martin came out of the closet, choosing to do so in a rather private matter via his website. In his words, the Latino Heartthrob of our generation wrote:

“I am proud to say that I am a fortunate homosexual man, I am very blessed to be who I am.”

For nearly everyone besides devout Puerto Rican grandmothers, this declaration spurs nothing but eye rolls and groans. Of course he was gay.

While I too certainly knew that Martin was gay, he still will not garner any eye rolls from me this afternoon.  For me, Martin’s coming out was not so much an act of quelling the rumors but more of one that would enable him to finally  be at peace with himself.  Martin could have certainly come out like his 90’s pop counterpart Lance Bass, but it wasn’t about all that for him.

He doesn't seem to be enjoying this...

Martin’s Puerto Rican heritage made being openly gay more difficult.  He also built a musical career on the platform of being a sexy foreign hunk who gets all the ladies but also has a soft emotional and romantic side when he falls in love with them (Livin La Vida Loca, She Bangs, She’s All I Ever Had).  In addition, he followed his musical endeavors with years of humanitarian work, constructing a global do-gooder image for himself comparable to Celine Dion. It kind of makes sense that Martin was apprehensive to admit he was gay.

But for me, its not how long it took Ricky to come out. I mean, he did, and I commend him for that.  But I believe that with his spotlight career behind him, and with two young sons to raise, Martin came out now merely so that he could move on, from the secrets, the lies, and the haunting fears that come with all that. Now, Ricky Martin will be able to quietly raise his boys to be true to themselves, and he probably won’t appear in the news again for a very long time. I certainly haven’t thought about the guy in ages, and I hope that after today, he can go back to getting on with his life.  Again, I commend Martin for his bravery, wish him and his family the best of luck, and hope that he can now Live his Vida, gay and carefree.

3 Responses to “So She Doesn’t Bang…”

  1. emancipationofjamie March 30, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Does this mean Ricky can have a Big Gay Comeback? I want him to do a best-of album where he makes all the gender-specific pronouns male! “His lips are devil red and his skin is the color of mocha, he will wear out you (scandalous!) livin la vida loca!”

  2. sophisms March 30, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    Yes please. “He’s All I Ever Had” = new gay power ballad. “When I look into his eyes, it’s the way I feel inside / Like the man I want to be / He’s all I ever need.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vanessa Carlton is a “Proud Bisexual Woman” « BLoGT: NYU's Queer Blog - June 21, 2010

    […] like the trend that Ricky Martin seems to have started when he came out as a fortunate homosexual man. At this rate musician-celebrity coming-outs are running about one/month, and pretty soon, everyone […]

Leave a Reply

