“You Belong With Me”: Gay Crush Version

17 Mar

I’ve been changing the pronouns in Taylor Swift’s “You Belong With Me” since I first heard it on the radio. To me, Taylor’s song makes more sense as a gay love story: a young gay woman lusts after her straight best friend. She can’t believe that anyone could choose a dumb boy who can’t dress himself over “the one who understands [her].” (And to be fair, the story makes even more sense as a love story between two young men; I’m just biased and always searching for a pop song that perfectly encapsulates my own high-school experiences of love, loss, longing, and converting my straight best friends.) So there are no words for the joy I felt when my friend–the illustrious James P.–sent me the link to this remake of the “You Belong With Me” music video featuring a same-sex crush.

The video was put on by the University of Rochester Yellowjackets. Michael Pittman stars as the adorable, slightly geeky boy next door infatuated with the studly Matt Francis.

Leave a Reply

